Australia vs Bangladesh | Win by 28 Runs, AUS beat BAN

The match Australia vs Bangladesh at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua, is expected to be a high-scoring game, based on the previous encounter between the USA and the Proteas, which was also the first game of the Super 8 stage. However, if the wicket turns out to be spin-friendly, as it was during the group stage games at this venue, Bangladesh will have a better chance of putting up a strong fight.

Australia vs Bangladesh Game Summary

Australia secured a 28-run victory over Bangladesh using the DLS method in their T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8 opener in Antigua on Friday. The rain delayed the game after the transfer of the seventh over between the run chase, with Australia at 64/0.

Rain ended play once more after the moment change of the 12th over, with Australia at 93/2 and David Warner unbeaten on 53*. Bangladesh stumbled immediately, losing Tanzid Hasan for a duck to Mitchell Starc in the first over.

Litton Das and captain Najmul Hossain Shanto started to build a partnership, but Adam Zampa came to Australia’s rescue by dismissing Litton for 16. Shortly after, Maxwell struck, removing Rishad Hossain for 2. From there, it went downhill for Bangladesh as Pat Cummins completed his hat-trick in the 20th over, taking the wickets of Towhid Hridoy (40), Mahmudullah (2), and Mahedi Hasan (0). 

Bangladesh managed to post only 140/8 in their 20 overs. Marcus Stoinis also contributed by taking the wicket of Shakib Al Hasan for 8.

Australia | Bangladesh


Australia’s players: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh (c), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (w), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

Bangladesh’s players: Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das (w), Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman.

Read more cricket news and prediction here at Tiranga Games.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top